STRENGTH TRAINING: MORE THAN JUST FITNESS!

CL Snatch prep

This is the little bio article I did for @barbellbabes (instagram page) feature!

It is my story about how I embarked on my current fitness journey, and what has led me to be where I am now. I hope you enjoy…

‘When I was pregnant with my second baby, I made the decision to get fit. Not just fit, I wanted to get FIT FIT. The Fittest I’d ever been.

I’ve always been fit, always trained. Running (marathons, ½ marathons), gym, pt, pilates etc. But I wanted a new challenge. I needed a new outlook on training, something that would challenge me far beyond my comfort zone.

At different points in my life I’ve used my training as an escape, a way to clear my mind. When I started crossfitting (about 18 months ago) I’d been through some recent trying times. I’d lost my mum, closed my business and left a job. I also had 2 babies in 18 months (which was wonderful but challenging), life changes everywhere. My partner works away, so I fly solo half of the time too. Some days were very dark. Training was the only thing I did for myself. I started lifting as part of my crossfit programming, & what I found continues to change my perspective daily & give me the strength I need to be a positive, happy person.

I thought the purpose of barbell work was to lift more, to work on technique, to become a better athlete. While all of this is hugely important, the most valuable aspect for me is the emotional & mental strength I’ve gained. By challenging myself physically everyday, I’ve achieved things I never thought possible. This translates to my personal life, where I find I’m a stronger Mum, a happier partner & a more confident, self assured me.

I used to train to look a certain way (ie to be a certain dress size/number on the scales), but now I couldn’t care less about that. Training is about performance, about growth as a person & as an athlete. I can now backsquat 1.8 BW, I can deadlift 2.2 BW, I’ve got 16 strict pull ups. But to me that’s irrelevant anyway. It’s about turning up everyday, putting the work in, challenging yourself & being proud! Numbers on weight plates on the end of a barbell are just that, numbers. It doesn’t matter whether you can lift 20kg or 200kg, it’s about having a go, doing your best & not giving up. Amazing things happen out of the comfort zone.’

STRENGTH FITNESS WHOLEFOODS

Cx

Leave a comment